1. Unfortunately The Project Meditation Community Forum is no longer active. Although registration and the creation of new posts not possible, you can still read and search the forum...

If you are unable to find what you are looking for within the Project Meditation Community please check out our new Blog and/or our Facebook page.

What about the 'edge' of life?

Discussion in 'Meditation Chatter Box' started by imtoochill, Mar 20, 2014.

1. imtoochill

imtoochill Member

Hi guys,

I've been meditating on and off for about two years. I think I got used to it pretty quickly and feel that my practice is quite effective. My method is just sitting down on my computer chair with my eyes closed, concentrating on my breathing and calmly redirecting my thoughts when I get distracted. I feel more balanced, present, calm, attentive, disciplined and peaceful for the 12 to 24 hours after I meditate (depending on how often I meditate).

However, regardless of all these great benefits I get from meditating, I feel like I am losing a certain edge. Like the edge that anxiety or pressure can motivate you to take a drastic step. Another example would be the edge to fight (not necessarily physically), if somebody instigates me, I feel like I no longer have the pride or the motivation to fight back, and this is a defeating feeling. I feel as if meditation also lowers my sex drive, and I think it all ties in together. It's as if it kind of makes me feel like less of a man, and as a man in my mid 20's, this is not something I find appealing.

Maybe these things are meant to be transcended and it this could even be a goal of meditation, but it is not a goal of mine and I see it as more of a drawback. Has anyone else experienced this? Can anyone provide any possible solutions? Like maybe a different type of meditation or lower frequency?

2. Panthau

Panthau Member