1. Unfortunately The Project Meditation Community Forum is no longer active. Although registration and the creation of new posts not possible, you can still read and search the forum...

If you are unable to find what you are looking for within the Project Meditation Community please check out our new Blog and/or our Facebook page.

Visualizing During Meditation

Discussion in 'Meditation Chatter Box' started by marissa, Feb 5, 2013.

1. marissa

marissa Member

Hello
    I have been meditating for a few months now, so I am very new to meditation. I am confused about what it means to visualize during meditation. For example if you were to visualize a beautiful garden and that you were walking in the garden taking in your surroundings. Does that mean that I am supposed to imagine that I am walking in this garden kinda like in the back of my mind? Or does it mean lets say when you close your eyes and you see the black or blank screen on the back of your eyelids, is this beautiful garden I am visualizing supposed to come clear with full color right there on that black screen on the back of my eyelids as if I were watching t.v.? I have tried over and over to see a garden or a room or whatever comes to mind and if I try I can imagine how it would look in my mind but not good enough to feel as if I am really there taking it all in. I would appreciate any thoughts and advise anyone would like to share.
    Thanks Marissa :)

2. GilesC

GilesC Member

Hi Marissa and welcome to the Project Meditation community,

Visualizing in the usual sense, means that you would be seeing things as if you were there observing it yourself, not so much like watching a tv, but more like actually being there, though you may or may not necessarily interact with what is being visualized.

There could be a couple of issues...