1. Unfortunately The Project Meditation Community Forum is no longer active. Although registration and the creation of new posts not possible, you can still read and search the forum...

If you are unable to find what you are looking for within the Project Meditation Community please check out our new Blog and/or our Facebook page.

Should i try to be mindful all day?

Discussion in 'Meditation Chatter Box' started by Skanzi, Sep 24, 2013.

1. Skanzi

Skanzi Member

Hi there

I'm quite new to meditation and i have one question.

Should i try to be mindful all day long? Meaning i focus on my leg muscles when i'm cycling, looking and observing the environment when i'm walking, listening to sounds when i'm walking. Notice my muscle movements whenever i can, make a sandwich with all my attention etc...

So you know, doing everything i do in life with all the focus and attention i have.
    Would this be a good idea, or would this be more like a nuisance when i do this too much. I have tried this, but after a while i just become distracted and having to bring my attention back to muscles and stuff becomes slightly annoying like that actually. Then i'd rather just not try to concentrate so much on one thing. But is that better?

2. pollyanna

pollyanna Moderator

Hi Skanzi and welcome to the community :)

Have never really tried the mindful meditation technique, however I can recommend the free "Discover Meditation" download at the top of the community.

It has helped so many and here's a link you may find to be really helpful.

Please let us know how you get on and I wish you much peace and joy :) :) :)

3. GilesC

GilesC Member

Hi Skanzi,

When you talk of being mindful I understand that as being aware.
    It's quite common for our minds to cause us a distraction and for us to drift away (daydream) rather than place our awareness on what is right in front of us.