1. Unfortunately The Project Meditation Community Forum is no longer active. Although registration and the creation of new posts not possible, you can still read and search the forum...

If you are unable to find what you are looking for within the Project Meditation Community please check out our new Blog and/or our Facebook page.

Sensation of suffocating/chest ache, and 3rd eye pressure - seeking input...

Discussion in 'Meditation Chatter Box' started by john_h, May 12, 2010.

1. john_h

john_h Member

Hi folks,

John here, new member and first-time poster seeking some input. I'll try and be succinct and paint a decent picture!!

I am fairly new to meditation and have recently re-doubled my efforts to practice regularly and with simple focus on my object of attention (usually the breath, or the 3rd eye).

Just a bit of background info... Just in my normal consciousness, I often carry around this "mass" of low-grade ache in my chest. Its like this dull ache that sits behind my heart/lungs, it feels like this amorphous mass that has a physical presence all to itself. There have been episodes just in my normal consciousness where this "mass", for lack of a better term, becomes "sick", and produces a severe feeling of sadness/ache in my chest, and my body responds by almost violently contracting all the muscles of my torso to try and "push" it out of me - similar to when you have a very profound vomiting episode, but this this is my body's way of trying to eject this mass of sadness and pain. BTW, I'm am seeking professional counseling to help with this, not solely relying on meditation!!