1. Unfortunately The Project Meditation Community Forum is no longer active. Although registration and the creation of new posts not possible, you can still read and search the forum...

If you are unable to find what you are looking for within the Project Meditation Community please check out our new Blog and/or our Facebook page.

Rapid Eye Movement or Twitching during meditation. Help.

Discussion in 'Meditation Chatter Box' started by visionstream, Feb 22, 2011.

1. visionstream

visionstream Member

Hi there! New to this forum but I have come here in search of some advise.
    I am new to meditation, having only successfully meditated about 5 times. When I meditate I usually do it to Tibetan Buddhist music. This really helps me to get in the zone quite rapidly. Of course I begin by focusing on my breathing and then as I forget about breathing my mind starts racing with thoughts. I do as an instructional video I've seen advised and start repeating to myself "thoughts....thoughts....thoughts...." and picture the actual word "thoughts" kind of fading away kind of how the Starwars opening statements scroll up and slowly vanish.
    As I start to get into the meditative mindset when the colors start flashing behind my eyelids and I get really abstract visuals my eyes start to shake a lot. It seems to be an involuntary twitch. It makes it hard to focus on nothingness as it is an odd sensation. The past few times I manage to forget about it and continue onto the meditative state, but it still troubles me. It feels like my eyes are moving up down right and left in a very intense manner and have even reached up and touched my eyes to verify that it was actually happening.
    Does anyone have any ideas? Anyone have trouble with this or have heard of a solution?
    I try very hard to just relax them and it works but then I'm not focusing on nothingness and as soon as I start to get back in the zone, it happens again.
    Quite bothersome.
    Appreciate any advice.