1. Unfortunately The Project Meditation Community Forum is no longer active. Although registration and the creation of new posts not possible, you can still read and search the forum...

If you are unable to find what you are looking for within the Project Meditation Community please check out our new Blog and/or our Facebook page.

quick question about mantras

Discussion in 'START HERE: Registration & Introductions' started by tdillon, Nov 28, 2008.

1. tdillon

tdillon Member

I am new at this and have chosen "shreem" as my mantra. However, I have used shreem when doing meditations for manifesting financial success so when thinking of this word, I immediately think of the things I want to manifest, which is always good, except, am I supposed to be clearing my mind completely for this type of meditation and should I pick a different mantra, one that doesn't mean anything to me. How do you pick a mantra?

2. Balaam

Balaam Member

I have been having the same problem with mantras. i have been trying to decide what to pick but from what i can gather, mantra is more about sound vibration that repairs the cells in the body. it doesnt matter what you say as long as you repeat it and it has a positive rythme and content. some people use omm, om mani padme hum, hail mary full of grace the lord is with thee, etc. i asked a monk who belongs to a zen branch called kwan um zen/korean and am considering using that to create balance, but i do know the idea of mantra is just to concentrate on the sound you are making and allowing it to pass though your body and that there are inner physical and chemical benefits to doing it. i dont think it should be practiced whilst applying to material wants, because that would detract from the healing process wouldnt it? im not sure.

3. Bhavya

Bhavya Member

I think if you've got a mantra which you use for a specific purpose like attracting wealth, then it's best to have another for meditation.