1. Unfortunately The Project Meditation Community Forum is no longer active. Although registration and the creation of new posts not possible, you can still read and search the forum...

If you are unable to find what you are looking for within the Project Meditation Community please check out our new Blog and/or our Facebook page.

Mindfulness and Lovingkindness

Discussion in 'Mind, Body & Spirit' started by travelerjack, May 28, 2013.

1. travelerjack

travelerjack Member

Hi,

I have searched all over for an answer to this but haven't found a straight one. I have been practicing mindfulness for about three months now and just recently tried a lovingkindness meditation.

My question is, how often/what ratio should I do these two practices in? Is it best to alternate one for one, mindfulness one day, lovingkindness the next, or is better used less often than the other? The lovingkindness meditation made me feel really good, but I don't want to get sucked into doing it just to chase that feeling.

I try to practice both of them throughout everyday activities, so my question is only really aimed at dedicated sessions of practice.

2. GilesC

GilesC Member

When you say you've been practicing mindfullness, do you mean mindfulness or do you mean a specific mindfulness meditation?

Midnfullness itself comes from a philosophical knowledge that is put into practice in our daily lives, helping to increase our awareness of allow us to live in the present moment (or "living in the Now" as Eckhart Tolle would put it). If we practice mindfullness and living in the present moment, we don't suddely stop doing this in order to do something else. Yes, we may get distracted, but we don't consciously choose to stop being mindful, and mindfullness itself won't prevent us doing other things such that it needs to be stopped.