1. Unfortunately The Project Meditation Community Forum is no longer active. Although registration and the creation of new posts not possible, you can still read and search the forum...

If you are unable to find what you are looking for within the Project Meditation Community please check out our new Blog and/or our Facebook page.

Meditation Vs. Hypnosis

Discussion in 'Meditation Chatter Box' started by soulvids, Mar 13, 2009.

1. soulvids

soulvids Member

Many of the self-help gurus (Jose Silva, Burt Goldman) use hypnosis (but refer to it as meditation) to get to the Alpha state. They imply that this state can be attained rather quickly (their methods have yet to work for me). Positive suggestions are then made to the right hemisphere of the brain for the purpose of improvement. How does this method of reaching Alpha compare to traditional meditation? Are there any pros & cons to speak of?

2. Edwin

Edwin Member

I have no experience with hypnosis, but I do know that hypnosis and meditation are definately not the same.

They might even be described as two opposites !

The key is conciousness.
    With meditation you reach deeper states of brainwaves that usually only occur during sleep, while still being concious.

Hypnosis is inducing a trance like state that resembles sleep, tricking the person into thinking that he still is concious and to a certain degree he is, however by altering their reality, they actually are unconcious.

I have no doubt that hypnosis can produce certain brainwave states, and can indeed be very helpfull and benificiary, please understand me correctly, I am just trying to point out the difference between the states of "meditative state" and "hypnosis state".

The key I think is control.
    A meditator has control over himself and his actions. He is able to "snap out of" his meditative state should something happen that forces him to get up and move, like for instance someone ringing the doorbell.