1. Unfortunately The Project Meditation Community Forum is no longer active. Although registration and the creation of new posts not possible, you can still read and search the forum...

If you are unable to find what you are looking for within the Project Meditation Community please check out our new Blog and/or our Facebook page.

Meditation Enviroment

Discussion in 'Meditation Chatter Box' started by Leumas, Jun 18, 2013.

1. Leumas

Leumas Member

Hi. I've been meditating for a couple months now (not continuously ;)) but let me explain quickly. My room is on the 3rd floor of my house, there are two tvs, games consoles, laptops, my house is right next to a busy car park so i often hear loud noises from there, plus theres a cuckoo clock in my house which goes off every hour which for me makes it impossible to break the hour mark. I cant think of anywhere without driving or using public transport that would be quiet and private enough.
    I feel as though its not me thats stopping my meditation from progressing but the enviroment im in when im doing it, im wondering if anyone can give me some ideas, tips or the sort of locations you use. Where do you feel comfortable?

2. pollyanna

pollyanna Moderator

3. GilesC

GilesC Member

Polly has posted an excellent link to a reply by Ta-tsu-wa.

Likewise, I don't see sounds and noise as being a distraction, though I can understand it can seem difficult at first.