1. Unfortunately The Project Meditation Community Forum is no longer active. Although registration and the creation of new posts not possible, you can still read and search the forum...

If you are unable to find what you are looking for within the Project Meditation Community please check out our new Blog and/or our Facebook page.

Looking for guided meditations that leave space and have little talking.

Discussion in 'Meditation Chatter Box' started by Headlands, Sep 29, 2013.

1. Headlands

Headlands New Member

Greetings, all! I've been doing Vipassana-style meditation for about six years, and have always been on the lookout for guided meditations that are unspoiled by lots of talking by the instructor. It's very hard to find guided meditations like this, as instructors tend to want to talk too often for my personal taste, and it often gets in the way of my meditations. I know that this is also something to work on in myself, but I really do greatly prefer guided sessions that only have brief talking with very occasional guidance/checking in during the session, with lots of space to allow for the actual meditation and (these would possibly be for more experienced meditators).

Anyone know where I might be able to find specific ones of this nature? Thanks in advance for your help!

2. Panthau

Panthau Member

Hi,

Meditation itself is best done without any distraction (music, speaking, etc.). It may be something different for guided trance, relaxation or hypnosis.

My 5 cent. Atb,
    Phil

3. GilesC

GilesC Member

I guess it depends what we mean by a "guided meditation".

A typical guided meditation is one where the person is guided throughout the meditation, often taking people through a visual (or suchlike) story, focusing on different senses or ideas etc.

Other guided meditations tend to be for theraputic purposes, i.e. to reduce stress, or relieve cravings etc. and these also involve lots of talking and focusing on certain ideas and senses etc.