1. Unfortunately The Project Meditation Community Forum is no longer active. Although registration and the creation of new posts not possible, you can still read and search the forum...

If you are unable to find what you are looking for within the Project Meditation Community please check out our new Blog and/or our Facebook page.

hello i'm new to all this

Discussion in 'START HERE: Registration & Introductions' started by miketalon, May 31, 2009.

1. miketalon

miketalon Member

i've been studing taichi for 3 years and heard about TM on the radio, theres a school in my area that wanted 2000.00 for the course, ouch way out of my range thank you so much for offering such a great course for free, i'm still waiting for the bill to come. but thanks again, i cant thank u enough.:)

2. GilesC

GilesC Member

Hi Mike and welcome to the Project Meditation community.

Yes, Transcendental Meditation can be costly. It's one of those odd things that's happened over the years. TM is a trademarked name for the Transcendental Meditatation Organisation and, when TM first came across to the West it was told that it was available for everybody. In truth, it is available to everybody... if you have very little income then they will charge you based on your available means, but most people see the basic flat rate they now charge ($2000 I assume you are referring to) and think, wow! I cant' afford that!

The rise in price happened several years ago and many of the TM teachers at the time were not happy about it. As such they left the "organisation" and set themselves up teaching TM under different names, but for a more reasonable price that most people could afford, still taking account of people's means if they really couldn't afford it.