1. Unfortunately The Project Meditation Community Forum is no longer active. Although registration and the creation of new posts not possible, you can still read and search the forum...

If you are unable to find what you are looking for within the Project Meditation Community please check out our new Blog and/or our Facebook page.

Headache after meditating for several weeks - Related?

Discussion in 'Meditation Chatter Box' started by siva, Nov 2, 2008.

1. siva

siva Member

Hello all,
    I've been meditating (with LF10 ) for about a month now. I'm relatively new to meditation and did a week without LF10 before I bought LF series. I meditate for anytime between 20-30 mins in the morning (want to do the prescribed 40 min, but the mind wants to stop in 20-30 min)
    I've been having a headache in the top portion of my head several minutes after I finish my meditation. This started about 3 weeks into meditation.
    I had been following 'Sudarshan Kriya' from 'Art of Living' for a while last year around October and had a similar kind of pain at the same region several weeks into it. I discontinued it at that time and got a MRI scan of the brain and the doctor found nothing. He said that these types of headaches are known as 'Vertex Headaches' and sometimes comes and goes without reason.
    Since 'Sudarshan Kriya' is a form of meditation too, I'd like to hear opinions on whether the headache and meditation could be related.
    I'd also like to hear opinions on why I'm not able to continue past 30 min in a session.

Thanks,
    Siva

2. Edwin

Edwin Member

First of all, I think it was very wise to attend a doctor.
    One never knows !

The headaches might have 2 totally oppisite reasons, opposite to each other that is.

Usually headaches have to do with straining.
    If you put too much effort in something, even a relaxation technique like meditation, you are working against yourself.
    In more than one way, meditation is the "art of letting go".