1. Unfortunately The Project Meditation Community Forum is no longer active. Although registration and the creation of new posts not possible, you can still read and search the forum...

If you are unable to find what you are looking for within the Project Meditation Community please check out our new Blog and/or our Facebook page.

Choosing a mantra

Discussion in 'Meditation Chatter Box' started by Mzungu, Apr 16, 2009.

1. Mzungu

Mzungu Member

Hi Everyone

As I am just getting started with meditation, I have to choose a mantra. Can anyone suggest a few mantras or can I choose anything I want?

Also, how do I know which mantra would work for me? If I have chosen one, do I have to stick with it or can I replace it with another one if I feel so inclined?

2. Mzungu

Mzungu Member

Ahem.... I guess I should have searched the forum archives for an answer to my question about mantras :eek:

I just did and found the following answer posted before by Michael on the subject of mantras:

"The mantra based meditation technique 'Discover Meditation' will work just fine if you choose your own mantra.

I would suggest you pick a mantra that sounds soothing to you.

If the first sound you select is later felt to be unsuitable, I encourage you to then choose or create another mantra until you find something that resonates with you.

Regarding your comment:

"Could I use longer mantras like full sentences or rows of letters to make it more challenging and to require sharper concentration"

To get the greatest success with my course, I encourage you to choose a simple mantra and avoid complex sentences.

When you listen to Discover Meditation, you will hear me talk about not trying so hard... This applies to concentrating on your mantra also.

When you repeat your chosen mantra in your mind it should not be a strained effort to try and keep it as your dominant focus.