Books on meditation

Discussion in 'Science of Meditation' started by osamipo, Mar 28, 2010.

  1. osamipo

    osamipo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2010
  2. Edwin

    Edwin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
  3. Panthau

    Panthau Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Thanks for the tips guys! Sadly i have none to share... all the books i´ve been reading are about reality and enlightement.

    Hm i just wonder... my english teacher told me that theres only an "ing" when its happening now... so it should be "all the books i´ve read are about..." :) :)
     
  4. GilesC

    GilesC Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    off topic, but just for Pan. ;)

    "I have been reading" and "I have read" are equally acceptable. The "been" puts the "ing" in the past, so the tense is correct in that respect.

    Edit:
    Actually there is a slight difference in implicaation with each statement.
    "I have been reading" could imply that the book is still being read.
    "I have read" indicates that the book has been completed.

    Hugs

    Giles
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2010
  5. Panthau

    Panthau Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Thanks for the info Giles :) :)
     
  6. Edwin

    Edwin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
  7. Grey

    Grey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    should that not read "off topic-ing"?
     
  8. Panthau

    Panthau Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I thought we´re way of topic, but now we´re way way of topic :p
     
  9. oneflewover

    oneflewover Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    To pick or Not to pick......That is the.......anyway.....

    One of the best secular meditation books i have ever read was Teach Yourself to Meditate by Eric Harrison. Brilliant in its simplicity and clarity. Highly recommended no matter how long you have been sitting or lying.
     
  10. Bhavya

    Bhavya Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Another one

    I've been enjoying The Wise Heart: A Guide to the Universal Teachings of Buddhist Psychology by Jack Kornfield. Although not just about meditation, there are lots of meditations inside. It's interwoven with countless stories taken from Kornfield's years of teaching which illustrate how to deal with issues that can arise when we meditate. A good read and very informative for Buddhists and non Buddhists.
    (And no, I'm not being paid to promote the book!! :p )
     
  11. GilesC

    GilesC Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    On Topic again. ;)

    The book I'm reading at the minute is very good and it does relate to meditation even though the title is a little obscure in that respect...

    "The Miracle of Mindfulness" by That Nich Hanh
     
  12. Bhavya

    Bhavya Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Mooji's new book, Breath of the Absolute is wonderful!
     
  13. chris-da-fur

    chris-da-fur Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Where did you get it? I have been looking forward to it for awhile now!
     
  14. Grey

    Grey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    what is it about?
     
  15. Bhavya

    Bhavya Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi Chris
    I ordered it from the website (UK) Mooji.org - Online Store
    but I've heard it'll soon be available from Amazon. I am finding this book even better than Before I am, his first.

    Grey, this is in the tradition of Ramana Maharshi and Papaji where we inquire within with the question "Who Am I?" until we reach our essential Self beyond mind and body.

    Mooji has plenty of teachings on utube at YouTube - Moojiji's Channel
    You can check him out and see if this appeals to you. He also gives satsang in London.

    Personally I can say these teachings have changed my life. They are remarkable in their simplicity and depth.
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2010
  16. Ta-tsu-wa

    Ta-tsu-wa Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    One of my favorites is by Ajahn Brahm, a Buddhist monk now living in Australia, called "Mindfulness, Bliss, and Beyond: A Meditator's Handbook". It contains perhaps the most concise information related to the Buddhist experience of jhanas to be found anywhere in writing. Jhanas are a particularly deep state of awareness and highly focused state of state of mind that retains a very fluidic nature despite the mind's tight focus. Jhanas are one of those things that language just doesn't have the tools to express as they really are, yet somehow Ajahn Brahm finds a way to come as close as anyone ever has.
     
  17. Griffin

    Griffin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I Am That, by Nisargadatta Maharaj. Although not so much a book on meditation as such, its a collection of discourses between a master of vedanta (non-dualism) and various earnest seekers. His words are powerful pointers for anyone seeking truth/unity/whatever. Truly majestic. I think teachings such as his combined with technology such as lifeflow will change the world we live in eventually. I sincerely hope so anyway, fingers crossed.
     
  18. Nelson11

    Nelson11 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If you want to know the realm of buddhahood, you must make your mind as clear as empty space. Leave false thinking and all grasping far behind, causing your mind to be unobstructed wherever it may turn. The realm of buddhahood is not some external world where there is a formal "Buddha." It's the realm of the wisdom of a self-awakened sage.
    - Zen Master Ta-hui (1088-1163)

    There is a reality even prior to heaven and earth; indeed, it has no form, much less a name. Eyes fail to see it; it has no voice for ears to detect. To call it Mind or Buddha violates its nature, for it then becomes like a visionary flower in the air. It is not Mind, nor Buddha; absolutely quiet, and yet illuminating in a mysterious way, it allows itself to be perceived only by the clear-eyed. It is Dharma truly beyond form and sound; it is Tao having nothing to do with words.
     

Share This Page