1. Unfortunately The Project Meditation Community Forum is no longer active. Although registration and the creation of new posts not possible, you can still read and search the forum...

If you are unable to find what you are looking for within the Project Meditation Community please check out our new Blog and/or our Facebook page.

Best brainwave for alertness/wakefulness

Discussion in 'Meditation Chatter Box' started by airportlounge, Dec 22, 2007.

1. airportlounge

airportlounge Member

Hello fellow meditators!

In case there are those of you who missed my introduction, I am a student currently attending a Canadian University majoring in History and English (hoping to obtain a minor in philosophy). Lately, I have been unable to concentrate and focus (not to mention, always tired) on almost an academically hindering level. My question to you folks is, what brainwave is best for focus meditation? I am quite novice to this whole thing, but I was thinking of something more along the lines of the alpha wave. Luckily, meditation, despite being a greenhorn, has helped me tremendously. Just want to make sure I'm doing things right.

PS. I'm beginning to think focusing and alertness/wakefulness are probably associated with different waves. Focusing probably operates on a lower level like delta or theta, right?

2. airportlounge

airportlounge Member

ah, just to correct myself, I understand that all meditation requires extreme focus, but what I mean is something that will help me concentrate in an awaken state. Thanks.

3. Maitreya

Maitreya Member

Though, I too am a beginner to meditation, I do have an extensive knowledge of the brain and mind.

The Thread regarding the Brainwaves explains all about this. In focused, but conscious, concentration (if the focus is extreme) the brain will operate in the High Alpha range.

If somehow you suddenly slipped into Theta or Delta, those around you would call it "Passing Out" :p