1. Unfortunately The Project Meditation Community Forum is no longer active. Although registration and the creation of new posts not possible, you can still read and search the forum...

If you are unable to find what you are looking for within the Project Meditation Community please check out our new Blog and/or our Facebook page.

Another brand-newbie, need help

Discussion in 'Meditation Chatter Box' started by gadgetguy35, Apr 8, 2010.

1. gadgetguy35

gadgetguy35 Member

I just started to research meditation and I have to say, I feel totally lost. I was diagnosed as ADHD as a child, and my mind races constantly. I can't seem to slow it down for anything. I read all these posts about minutes upon minutes of blissful silence, and I want to be a part of it. I want to find my "happy place" as it were and be truly happy. I suffer from severe anxiety and restlessness. I know I probably sound like every newbie here, but I honestly feel that I need help. I don't want to go to counseling, the deep breathing observations I have started are already doing more for me than anything ever has. My blood pressure is dropping from red to yellow, and my doctor is encouraging me to pursue meditation. I don't even know where to start. What should I do? Should I use a Mantra? What is a Mantra? I am completely wet behind the ears here, please help!

2. Panthau

Panthau Member

Hi there,

Theres this "Discover Meditation" course (top of the page), which should show you the first steps into meditation. Using a mantra or not is a matter of taste, you can find plenty of posts here about that topic. I personally prefer to watch my breath while meditating.

So meditation is concentrating on one thing, which leads to not thinking or to "not attach" to thinking. Thats the point when you are "meditative".